Lymphology Clinic of Brussels

Welcome to the Lymphology Clinic of Brussels

Who are we ?

The Lymphology Clinic of Brussels is a flagship for excellence in Lymphology within the St-Pierre University Hospital. It works in concert with the Research Unit in Lymphology at ULB and other centers of excellence in Belgium and abroad, as well as with a network of external therapists.

Why and for what purpose do we exist ?

The Lymphology Clinic of Brussels meets the need of transdisciplinary management of diagnosis and care of lymphedema in order to optimize service to patients. It targets the highest possible quality of treatment at the forefront of scientific, clinical and technical knowledge.

What kind of treatment do we aim at ?

The Lymphology Clinic of Brussels welcome patients both for intensive and basic treatments. Intensive treatments will be given or in either hospitalisation or ambulatory stays, for periods of five to twenty days. Basic treatments will take place on an out-patient basis and planned in conjunction with the patient.

Clinical assessment and diagnosis are reached with methods at the cutting edge of the latest scientific advances.

The decongestive treatment of the lymphedema consists primarily in physical therapy including multicomponent bandaging, physical activity, manual lymphatic drainage, skin and wound care, pressotherapy and scar treatment.
Therapeutic management is complemented by a variety of different medical and paramedical specialists.
The patient’s autonomy is enhanced through sessions of therapeutic education.

Diagnostical support

General practitioners and other specialists who have questions regarding lymphatic aspects of their patient’s edema can rely on the team of the Lymphology Clinic of Brussels to arrive at a lymphatic clinical assessment thus completing the diagnosis. Don’t hesitate to contact us.

Innovation

The Lymphology Clinic of Brussels is breaking new ground in lymphedema treatment in collaboration with the start-up , originated from the « Ecole Polytechnique de Bruxelles» and the « Faculté des Sciences de la Motricité » of ULB, by developing new means of assessment of lymphedema such as : dynamic intelligent and connected bandages, elastic garments made of tridimensional tissues and imaging techniques allowing the detection of secondary lymphedema before they are visible to the human’s eye.

Patient associations      logo BeLymph, Belgian Association of lymphedema

The members of the Lymhology Clinic of Brussels are part of the founders of the Belgian Lymphedema Network BeLymph. This association, destined for the help of patients, is comprised of 4 components : Patients, clinicians, researchers and technicians.
In Belgium, BeLymph is the official branch of the International Lymphoedema Framework (ILF).

Here are a few pictures to present us

Realized by Grab it broadcast on Vimeo.

 

Our Clinic is organized in the form of a Public Law Association, governed by the law of July 8, 1976, whose head office is located 322 rue Haute in 1000 Brussels.

Accueil - Clinique de Lymphologie de Bruxelles
Clinique de Lymphologie de Bruxelles

Bienvenue à la Clinique de Lymphologie de Bruxelles

Qui sommes nous ?

La Clinique de Lymphologie de Bruxelles constitue un pôle d’excellence en lymphologie au sein du CHU Saint-Pierre. Elle collabore avec l’unité de recherche en lymphologie de l’ULB et d’autres centres d’excellence en Belgique ou à l'étranger, ainsi qu'avec un réseau de thérapeutes externes à la clinique.

Pourquoi sommes-nous présents ?

La Clinique de Lymphologie répond au besoin de prise en charge transdisciplinaire des diagnostics et des soins relatifs aux lymphœdèmes dans un soucis d’optimisation du service aux patients en leur fournissant les meilleurs traitements toujours à la pointe des connaissances scientifiques, cliniques et techniques.

Quels traitements prenons-nous en charge ?

La Clinique de Lymphologie accueille des patients aussi bien pour des traitements intensifs que pour des traitements de fonds. Les traitements intensifs sont organisés soit en hospitalisation, soit en séjours ambulatoires, pour des périodes de cinq à vingt jours. Les traitements de fonds s'organisent en ambulatoire, et sont planifiés en concertation avec le patient.

La mise au point et les diagnostics sont réalisés avec des méthodes à la pointe des progrès scientifiques.

La décongestion des lymphœdèmes se fait principalement par des traitements physiques qui comportent la pose de bandages multicomposants, l'activité physique, le drainage lymphatique manuel, les soins de la peau et des plaies, la pressothérapie et le traitement des cicatrices.
La prise en charge thérapeutique est complétée par l'intervention de différents spécialistes médicaux et para-médicaux.
L'autonomie du patient est augmentée au travers de séances d'éducation thérapeutique.

Aide au diagnostique

Les médecins généralistes et autres spécialistes qui s’interrogent sur les aspects lymphatiques des œdèmes auxquels ils sont confrontés, peuvent compter sur l’équipe de la Clinique de Lymphologie de Bruxelles pour réaliser et leur communiquer une mise au point lymphologique complète de leurs patients. N'hésitez pas à nous contacter.

Innovation

La Clinique de Lymphologie de Bruxelles innove dans les traitements des lymphœdèmes, en collaboration avec la Start-Up NOHO. Care, issue de l’Ecole Polytechnique de Bruxelles et de la Faculté des Sciences de la Motricité de l’ULB elle développe de nouveaux moyens d'évaluation du lymphœdème, des bandages dynamiques intelligents et connectés, des contentions élastiques avec des tissus tridimensionnels ainsi que des techniques d’imagerie qui permettent de détecter l’apparition des lymphœdèmes secondaires avant que celui-ci ne soit visible à l’œil humain.

Association de patients      logo BeLymph, Association Belge du Lymphœdème

Les membres de la Clinique de Lymphologie de Bruxelles sont parmi les fondateurs du Réseau Belge du Lymphœdème BeLymph. Cette association destinée à venir en aide aux patients est composée de quatre Conseils: les patients, les cliniciens, les chercheurs et les techniciens.
En Belgique, BeLymph est la branche officielle de l'International Lymphoedema Framework (ILF).

Quelques images pour nous présenter

Réalisé par Grab it diffusé sur Vimeo.

 

Notre Clinique s’organise sous la forme d’une Association de droit public, régie par la loi du 8 juillet 1976, dont le siège social se situe 322 rue Haute à 1000 Bruxelles.